top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAlex Middleton

Stresses of 2nd Year: LIFE UPDATE

So, I thought first year was demanding. My god this year has taken its toll and I’m only one term in!


Summer was 14 weeks long, (yes 14 weeks) and being as lazy as I am, it was wonderful. I had no work and I could lie in all day if I wanted to. It was pure bliss. BUT eventually September rolled around and reality of commuting to uni was starting to settle in (blog post on that coming soon).


So, I fell head first into second year and I feel like I haven’t had time to look back! I heard that second year was the hardest because not only did the workload double, but it was so much harder. You also had to face the problem of submitting your dissertation proposal by Christmas which seemed insane! Everything seemed to be happening at once and I was practically pulling my hair out by the end of week one.


One minute I was lying in bed all day and going to the pub in the evening, the next minute I had assignments due that week, coursework due by Christmas (all whilst getting into the habit of actually getting up before 10am). It was a terrible shock to the system and after the summer off, my handwriting was barely legible. Not ideal.


Now, it’s Christmas, I’m “relaxing” (and by relaxing I mean i'm pretending I don't have coursework that needs submitting urgently), but I have nearly finished the rest of my work so I feel free! For now… But on a real note I have really struggled getting motivated this year, especially with seminar preparation and I felt like I just bumbled through everything with minimal effort. After about week 5, I felt mentally exhausted and couldn’t wait to go home for Christmas. By week 12, I was practically dead on my feet.


I am however very lucky that I don’t have January exams because I can’t think of anything worse than having a “break” from uni, but having to revise the entire time? Doesn’t really seem fair?


Anyway, I return to uni late January so I’m savouring this time at home. I was lucky enough to gain work experience in my dream job which is amazing! I'm glad the 2 weekends of training are in February because i'm not sure my body is ready to actually have to do work yet (I seriously need to start exercising...)


I know it will be just as manic next term, but I’m ready to get back to it. I’ve had some time off and coming into the new year, I feel like I’ve cleared my head and I’m more motivated for this year. Forgive me if my posts dry up a little, it’s going to be a busy term!

Bring on 2019!


A x

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page